Our Mission

Our Mission is to provide leadership on key issues important to economic growth and inclusion for all citizens in the City of Atlanta.



The Atlanta Committee for Progress (ACP), a unique public-private partnership, was founded in 2003 by Mayor Shirley Franklin. The new committee allowed the Mayor to gather input and collaborate with c-suite level business, civic, philanthropic and academic leaders on issues of critical importance to the city.

Today, the ACP includes more than 40 highly-engaged chief executive officers, university presidents and civic leaders who offer expertise in service to Atlanta and its future development under the leadership of Mayor Keisha Bottoms and Chairman Alex Taylor, Cox Enterprises, Inc.

The ACP’s tremendous impact as an organization is due to the unique, execution-oriented partnership between the Mayor and leaders from business, non-profit and academic institutions on the most critical issues facing Atlanta. The organization’s key focus areas have been public sector fiscal accountability; economic development; infrastructure and transportation; K-12 public education; technology and innovation; and culture/quality of life.

Board Leaders

Keisha Lance Bottoms


City of Atlanta

Alex Taylor headshot

2021 Chair

Alex Taylor

President & CEO

Cox Enterprises, Inc.

Ryan Marshall headshot

2021 Vice Chair

Ryan Marshall

President & CEO

PulteGroup, Inc

Edward Bastian headshot

2020 Chair

Edward Bastian


Delta Air Lines, Inc.

Doug Hertz headshot

2019 Chair

Doug Hertz

Chairman & CEO

United Distributors

Martin L. Flanagan headshot

2015 Chair

Martin L. Flanagan

President & CEO


“We’re committed to the success of our city and our mayor, and to expanding opportunity that benefits all our citizens.”

— Larry L. Gellerstedt, III, Former 2019 Chair

“ACP drives results by leveraging the talent and commitment of many of Atlanta’s most respected business, academic and civic leaders.”

— John Dyer, Former 2017 Chair


Claire Lewis Arnold headshot

Claire Lewis Arnold
ACP Treasurer
Leapfrog Services, Inc.

Mark Begor headshot

Mark Begor

Arthur M. Blank headshot

Arthur M. Blank
Owner & CEO
Atlanta Falcons

Raphael Bostic headshot

Raphael Bostic
President & CEO
Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

Matt Bronfman headshot

Matt Bronfman

Dr. Ángel Cabrera headshot

Dr. Ángel Cabrera
Georgia Institute of Technology

Dr. Mary Schmidt Campbell headshot

Dr. Mary Schmidt Campbell
Spelman College

Dan Cathy headshot

Dan Cathy
Chairman, President, & CEO
Chick-fil-A, Inc.

Colin Connolly headshot

Colin Connolly
President & CEO
Cousins Properties. Inc.

Reade Fahs headshot

Reade Fahs
National Vision

Greg Fenves headshot

Greg Fenves
Emory University

Steve Fisher headshot

Steve Fisher
President & CEO

James Hannan headshot

James Hannan
Executive Vice President   CEO of Enterprises
Koch Industries, Inc.

Venessa Harrison headshot

Venessa Harrison
AT&T Georgia

John Haupert headshot

John Haupert
President & CEO
Grady Health System

Mike Hayford headshot

Mike Hayford
President & CEO

Donna Hyland headshot

Donna Hyland
President & CEO
Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta

Paul Judge headshot

Paul Judge
TechSquare Labs
& Chairman

Jenna Kelly headshot

Jenna Kelly
President, North Georgia Region

Ryan Marshall headshot

Ryan Marshall
President & CEO
PulteGroup, Inc

Craig Menear headshot

Craig Menear
Chairman, President, CEO
The Home Depot

Dimitris Psillakis headshot

Dimitris Psillakis
President and CEO
Mercedes-Benz USA

James Quincey headshot

James Quincey
Chairman & CEO
The Coca-Cola Company

Tony Ressler headshot

Tony Ressler
Principal Owner & Chair of the Board of Directors
Atlanta Hawks

Michael Russell headshot

Michael Russell
H.J. Russell & Company

David Sewell headshot

David Sewell

Jeff Sloan headshot

Jeff Sloan
Global Payments, Inc.

James Squires headshot

James Squires
President & CEO
Norfolk Southern

Wendy Stewart headshot

Wendy Stewart
Atlanta Market President
Bank of America

Russell Stokes headshot

Russell Stokes
President & CEO
GE Energy Connections

Scott Taylor headshot

Scott Taylor
President & CEO

Dr. David A. Thomas headshot

Dr. David A. Thomas
Morehouse College

Carol Tomé headshot

Carol Tomé

Faye Twersky headshot

Faye Twersky
The Arthur M. Blank Family Foundation

Chris Womack headshot

Chris Womack
Chairman and CEO
Georgia Power

Shan Cooper

Executive Director

Shan Cooper is the Executive Director for the Atlanta Committee for Progress. The ACP was founded in 2003 and their mission is to provide leadership on key issues important to economic growth and inclusion for all citizens in the City of Atlanta. The committee includes more than 40 highly engaged chief executive officers, university presidents and civic leaders who offer expertise in service to Atlanta and its future development.

Shan is the former chief transformation officer of WestRock and was responsible for the Recycling and Waste Services Division, Procurement, Enterprise Logistics and Information Technology. Prior to joining WestRock, Shan served as Vice President and General Manager of Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company.

As General Manager, she was responsible for the 6,000 employee operations in Marietta, Ga.; Meridian, Miss.; and Clarksburg, W. Va., which designs, produces, modifies and maintains military aircraft for the U.S. and countries around the world. Marietta programs included the C-130J Super Hercules, F-22 Raptor, P-3 Orion, C-5M Super Galaxy and F-35 Lightning II.

Shan was named Georgia Trend Magazine’s 2015 Most Respected Business Leader; the 2015 Women of the Year by American Association of University Women; and as one of Georgia Trend Magazine’s Most Influential Georgians in 2012 – 2016, 2020 and 2021. She was also named one of Black Enterprise Magazine’s Most Powerful Executives in Corporate America in 2017.

Shan serves on the Board of Directors for the Atlantic Capital Bancshares, Inc., the parent company of Atlantic Capital Bank, N.A, the Georgia Power Company, Intercontinental Exchange Inc. and Veritiv Corporation; the Board of Directors for Grady Health System and the Board of Trustees of Emory University. Shan is also on the Board of Georgia Tech Research Institute, Georgia Historical Society, Zoo Atlanta and a member of the Atlanta Rotary Club and a Life Member of the Board of Councilors for The Carter Center.

Shan earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Biology and Religion from Emory University and a Master of Business Administration from the Roberto Goizueta Business School of Emory University. She is also a graduate of the Rutgers University Executive Masters in Global Human Resource Leadership Program.



Brittany Edwards headshot

Brittany Edwards
Program Manager
Atlanta Committee for Progress

Tanner Lewis headshot

Tanner Lewis
Business Manager
Atlanta Committee for Progress

Community Collaborators